New chair for Construction Leadership Council


Sir David Higgins is set to hand over the reins to Crossrail Chief Executive Andrew Wolstenholme, who will become chair from next week…

In a bid to streamline the Construction Leadership Council (CLC), the number of members has been slashed from 30 to 13. This move follows calls to make the industry body more business-focused and more effective.

As a result of this, Crossrail Chief Executive Andrew Wolstenholme is set to take over as chair from next week.

Wolstenholme will replace Sir David Higgins after the first meeting with co-chair Construction and Skills Minister Nick Boles on 21 October.

Higgins, who was appointed to the role in July, said: “When I took on the industry chair role of the council I was clear with ministers that I thought it too large to be effective.

“Having reached the point where we have created a smaller, more clearly industry-led council, it is a good time to hand over the baton.”

The CLC meets four times a year and was created in 2013 in an attempt to bridge the gap between industry and the government. It aims to identify and deliver actions that will improve skills and help to grow the construction sector.

Speaking of the appointment, Boles said: “As chairman Andrew brings the unrivalled experience of managing Europe’s largest infrastructure project and construction roles across the world.

“He will take over from Sir David, who has provided invaluable leadership for the construction industry at a key time of recovery and growth.”

Wolstenholme also commented, stating: “Construction can be the next great British success story, on a par with the automotive and aerospace sectors, with the Council, government and industry working together at the forefront of this effort.”

Among the members of the council are:

  • Andrew Wolstenholme, Crossrail
  • David Cash, BDP
  • Madani Sow, Bouygues UK
  • Mike Putnam, Skanska UK
  • Mike Chaldecott, Saint Gobain
  • Stephen Stone, Crest Nicholson
  • Brian Morrisroe, A J Morrisroe & Sons
  • Simon Rawlinson, Strategic Forum for Construction/Arcadis
  • Anna Stewart, Laing O’Rourke
  • Department for Business, Innovation and Skills
  • Other government departments – agenda dependent


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here