Final Call for entries to the IES Martin Gough Student Award


The deadline is approaching for the Martin Gough Student Award, seeking excellence in research based on Apache and thermal simulation

Last year IES launched a global student award in memory of a highly regarded colleague, Martin Gough, a true technical mastermind of IES. With less than two months left to submit entries, IES are announcing a final call for students across the globe to register their interest and submit their papers by 30th June 2019.

The Martin Gough Student Award seeks excellence in research based on Apache and thermal simulation, which was Martin’s main area of expertise. Students from around the world are invited to take part, if they can answer yes to any of the following questions:

  • Have you used ApacheSim or ApacheHVAC with novel building projects?
  • Have you modelled innovative systems or renewables?
  • Have you linked energy simulation output with external models or algorithms?
  • Have you successfully calibrated models against reality?
  • Have you modelled unique internal environments, factories, industrial processes?
  • Have you brought new control approaches into energy simulation?
  • Are you pushing the boundaries in energy research and modelling with IES VE?

Does this sound like you? If so, you could be in with a chance of winning our top prize of £1000 (or local currency equivalent), a full 12 month IESVE software licence and access to our distance learning portal for one year. One runner up will also receive a £500 cash prize, as well as an annual IESVE software and distance learning licence.

The award also presents a rare opportunity for students to gain global recognition for their work. Case studies of both our winning entries will be published on DiscoverIES and promoted to the wider building simulation industry.

We received a number of high-quality entries last year making it very difficult for our judging panel. However, worthy winner Mohataz Hussain, and runner-up Rhenuma Parveen were selected. Find out more about the 2018 prize winners and their entries.

Think you’ve got what it takes to be this year’s winner? Then make sure to register your interest now.

Final entries must be submitted by email to by midnight on 30th June 2019. To find out more about the award, what makes for a winning entry and the submission requirements, head over to our website, or feel free to contact us directly with any questions you have.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here