Accounts of the original New Town programme published


A new publication has revealed first-hand accounts of the UK’s New Towns programme…

Five figures involved in the original New Town programmes have given their insight into the scheme in a new report published by Idox.

Idox, which provides planning, building control, and related services, launched the “Planning the new towns – In their own words” report, which looked into the New Towns programme.

The scheme was run between 1946 and 1970 and saw 32 new towns designated across the UK, as well as the later abandoned Stonehouse.

It delivered three phases of new towns. The first was between 1946 and 1950, the second between 1961 and 1964, and the third between 1967 and 1970.

Of the 32 towns, 21 were located in England, two in Wales, five in Scotland, and four in Northern Ireland. These towns are now home to over three million people and were developed with the expertise of visionary planners and architects, many of whom went on to become leading figures in town planning in the UK.

The report includes five interviews carried out during the 1980s and 1990s with individuals directly involved in the programme. This comprised of Lord Campbell of Eskan; Walter Bor, CBE; Professor Derek Walker; Sir George Grenfell-Baines; and Sir David Gosling.

The report is available for download at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here