PM launches new Build Back Better Council


Prime minister Boris Johnson has launched the Build Back Better Council to work with Government to fuel Covid-19 economic recovery

The prime minister chaired the first meeting of the new Build Back Better Council, which brings together a broad range of business leaders from across the whole British economy to work in partnership with the government to unlock investment, boost job creation, promote Global Britain and level up the whole of the UK.

The Build Back Better Council will be comprised of 30 members representing industries from construction and hospitality, to finance, science and technology.

At the first meeting, the Boris Johnson updated leaders on the current Covid-19 situation, including the vaccine roll-out, as well as plans to rebuild the economy after the crisis has passed.

Council members shared their views on the economy, provided a commercial perspective on policy and discussed obstacles and solutions to economic recovery.

‘An important forum for frank feedback’

Prime minister Boris Johnson, said: “We know the best way to rebuild our economy is to beat Covid which is why we have invested billions in new vaccines and a national testing operation so that we can reopen the economy safely as soon as possible in the future.

“But despite this we – like many other countries – face a huge economic challenge.

“And as we recover from this crisis it won’t be enough to just go back to normal – our promise will be to Build Back Better and level up opportunity for people and businesses across the UK.

“This Build Back Better Council will ensure that government and businesses continue to work closely together. It will provide an important forum for frank feedback on our recovery plans and will help ensure the steps we are taking are the right ones.”

The Build Back Better Council will meet quarterly. Each member is appointed to the council for a term of 12 months.

Council members include:

  • Isabel Dedring, Arup
  • Leo Quinn, Balfour Beatty
  • Stephen Welton, BGF
  • Rachel Lord, Blackrock
  • Bernard Looney, BP
  • Sean Doyle, British Airways
  • Philip Jansen, BT
  • Poppy Gustafsson, Darktrace
  • Penny James, Direct Line
  • Ronan Harris, Google
  • Emma Walmsley, GSK
  • Lord Deighton, Heathrow
  • Mark Tucker, HSBC
  • Dame Carolyn McCall, ITV
  • Thierry Bolloré, Jaguar Land Rover
  • Dame Sharon White, John Lewis Partnership
  • Robert MacLeod, Johnson Matthey
  • Cressida Hogg, Landsec
  • Nigel Wilson, Legal & General
  • Vivian Hunt, McKinsey & the CBI
  • Ron Kalifa, Network International
  • Karen Jones, Prezzo
  • Laxman Narasimhan, Reckitt Benckiser
  • Liv Garfield, Severn Trent
  • Carl Ennis, Siemens
  • Martin Murphy, Syncona
  • Ken Murphy, Tesco
  • Alan Jope, Unilever
  • Charlotte Hogg, Visa
  • Sir Ian Wood, Wood


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here